Time Trade Circle Header image of a bridge over the Charles RiverHomeAboutJoinMembersQuestionsNewsContact


Member Help

Simple instructions for how to do common time trade related things. These are all for members who have accounts on our web site and have already been activated. If you need help with something not listed here, contact us for help.

Time and Talents

As of 2/25/13, we have switched to a new timebanking site, Time and Talents.

Additional Help on Specific Tasks


What All Members should do After the Transition!

Since we have just transferred all member and trade information from the old site to the new site, it is very important that each member check their profile for accuracy! Not all information was transferred so some things you will want to set up again on your profile. Follow these steps to be sure you're ready to trade!

For more info and an overview of what's different about the new site, you may also want to read this FAQ on Time and Talents.
  1. Log in
    • Go to The new TTC internal site.
    • Log in using the email address you had listed on the old site.
    • Everyone's password has been reset so the first time you log in you'll use: Abc@123 (careful of capitalization).
  2. Change Your Password (MOST IMPORTANT!)
    • Click the My Profile button in the row of buttons near the top of the page.
    • Under the text fields, click Change Your Password.
    • New fields will appear to type in your new password twice (you may have to scroll down to see them).
    • Click SAVE Password. At the bottom it should say: Your password has been changed.
  3. Check Your Profile
    • Stay on the My Profile page.
    • Check Your Name and Info - Did everything get transferred correctly? Is this how you would like other members to see your first and last name listed? Please note that of the address you list on this page, only city and state will be displayed to other members.
    • Another Note: During the transfer, some members' names had an underscore character (_) attached to the beginning. You can simply delete this so it displays normally, or adjust your first and last names as necessary.
    • Add a Short Bio - Any text you had on your old profile page did not get transferred. Write a few sentences about yourself to give other members a sense of who you are and anything else relevant to trading, such as notes on availability or preferred contact.
    • When you're done, be sure to click Save (near the top).
  4. Check Your Contact Info
    • Mouse over the My Profile button, then from the dropdown menu that appears, click My Contact.
    • Did your phone and email get transferred correctly? You can delete info you don't want listed, or add other types of info you do want. If you select to have any info private, that means TTC coordinators can see it but other members cannot. Otherwise, info that you add will be visible to other TTC members. It's up to you how you want members to contact you and what info you decide to list.
  5. Check Your Account Balance
    • Mouse over the Hours tab, then from the dropdown menu that appears, click Statement.
    • In the gray space at the top, you will see your balance (hours provided, received, and total). Did your balances get transferred correctly?
    • If there's any confusion, look over your transaction history. If there is a problem, contact Louisa and we can compare the records to what was recorded on the old site.
    • Note that service categories did not get transferred exactly, and most have been changed to a more general category. This has no real affect on your account as long as the number of hours is still accurate.
  6. Check Your Service Offers and Requests
    • Click the My Offers button to see all of your currently listed offers.
    • Did the services you offer get transferred correctly? Are they up to date? Please take the time now to add any new services you are willing to provide, and also take down any services you are no longer offering.
    • Repeat this process on the My Requests page to check and update your requested services.
  7. Add a Photo
    • Profile photos did not get transferred from the old site. It is not required, but we encourage everyone to add a photo to their profile! If you don't want your own photo posted, think about a picture that represents you or something you like. It makes the site a more friendly place and encourages people to contact you for trades!
    • To add a photo, follow the instructions below.
  8. Join Some Groups
    • From the old site, affiliations and neighborhoods you may have selected did not get transferred. In addition, these exact categories don't exist in the new site, but instead we can use Groups.
    • Read about how groups work below, and join the relevant groups.
    • The list of groups has to be built up and since this site is new to us, the list is very short so far! We have added a few groups mainly as examples, so we strongly encourage members to add whatever groups you would like to see! We just ask that to keep them organized you please use the prefixes specified.
  9. Review Your Profile
    • Mouse over the My Profile button, then from the dropdown menu that appears, click My Page.
    • This is what your profile page will look like to other members of the TTC. Confirm that this is what you want displayed and make any further changes!

How to Add a Photo to your Profile


What you can do with Groups


How to Enter a Transaction


How to Manage your Weekly TTC Emails

There are two types of weekly (or approximately weekly) emails that will be sent by the TTC:
  1. The Weekly Bulletin: This is a similar email to the ones we have always sent, compiled each week by a coordinator, with info about TTC events and orientations, highlighted services, and interesting stories from the group.
    • With the old site it was possible to unsubscribe from these email broadcasts without stopping all system emails. For now, if you don't want to see them, we suggest you set up a filter within your email program. As we all get used to the new site, we may either add a way to unsubscribe from just these emails, or simply merge the two types of weekly emails.
  2. The Automatic Weekly Update: This is an email that the new site sends out automatically each week, listing the latest offers and requests that have been posted on the site.
    • It is possible to unsubscribe from these particular automated emails. To do that, click the Profile tab.
    • Then click Edit Profile.
    • Scroll down if necessary and near the bottom right it says: Send Weekly Updates?
    • Switch the toggle so the text reads No. You should no longer get those emails.