Time and Talents Notes - What's Different
This is a list of things that members often ask about because they are different than how the old site handled things. Some may be better or worse, but either way they just take some time to get used to them.
Important To Do
- Many members' balances are incorrect after the transfer. Some accounts even have incorrect transactions listed. We were able to fix a number of the affected accounts, but a lot are still inaccurate. Without checking every account we don't know which are wrong, so please report it if yours is one of them!
- Long service ads were truncated during the transfer. To avoid having to compose them all over again, you may want to log into the old web site (it is still accessible for a little while longer!) and copy and paste your text.
- Since there is no inbox, your TTC messages did not get transferred. To avoid losing information in them, you may want to log into the old web site (it is still accessible for a little while longer!) and copy and paste the messages' text.
- Inactive service posts did not get transferred as there is no place to save them on the new site. If you want to save your inactive ads from the old site, you may want to log in (it is still accessible for a little while longer!) and copy and paste the text to your own document which you can save for later.
Important To Know
- There is no site-specific inbox, you will just be emailing directly using your own email address.
- Service posts don't have titles, just a category and the body text.
- Services don't appear in chronological order. However, you can see how recently a member has logged in or traded and use that to gauge how up-to-date their posts may be.
- Many categories of transactions and services are now incorrect. They didn't get transferred accurately and the developer used a system that makes a best guess but they are often not right.
- Many parts of the site, such as service posts and the member list, do not update as soon as you make a change. Instead, they get updated once a day. So if you don't see a change you made reflected on the site, don't despair! Check back the next day to confirm.
- When you add new service offers, it prompts you to check off the services you want. This list is comprehensive, meaning you must keep all the categories checked for which you want services posted. If you uncheck a box, your post in that category will disappear. So if you are adding a new service, just add another checked box and leave the rest checked too!
- When you select whether you were happy with a service, it may not be clear which one you've chosen. If it says "yes" it means you're happy. If it says "no" it means you're not happy. You can click the button to toggle to the other option but what it says is what you have currently selected.
Additional Things To Do
- The new site has a 'reference' feature where if you have received a service, you can indicate whether you are willing to be a reference for the service provider. That means other members could see that you had traded with that member, and might contact you asking how the service was. Since the old site didn't have this feature, all 'refer' options were set to No by default. If you are in fact willing to be a reference for someone you have traded with, it would be nice to indicate that. Here's how:
- Mouse over Report Hours then click on My Statement.
- Locate the transaction you are willing to be a reference for.
- Click the toggle button under the Refer column so that you see a green Y.
- Your trading partner will thank you!